Important points to note before you do Yoga

Yoga is derived from the Sanskrit word "yuj" meaning “union”. It is the union of the Individual Consciousness with the Universal Consciousness 

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, written in the first half of the millennium CE, is recognized as the oldest texts about Yogic science.

There are Six branches of Yoga, each with unique characteristics, and representing a specific approach to life.

Hatha Yoga is the physical and mental branch of Yoga. It involves the practice of asanas and pranayama to charge the body and mind. 

Raja Yoga involves meditation and requires strict adherence to the “eight limbs of yoga.”

Karma Yoga is the path of service caused by our actions. It endeavors to create a future free from negativity.

Bhakti Yoga is the path of devotion. It endeavours to channelize our emotions to create acceptance and tolerance in us.

Gyana Yoga is the path of wisdom and intellect through study.

Tantra Yoga is the pathway of the consummation of a relationship.

When you practice Yoga, you experience the Seven Chakras in your body. To understand what it means , read the article below