Chaitra and Shardiya Navratri Date 2020

Each year Navratri is celebrated with great joy, enthusiasm, devotion, and dedication. There is an atmosphere of festivity all around as people celebrate the Mega Festival honoring the Mother Goddess Durga – The Cosmic Energy that protects and preserves life on this planet Earth. Know the Navratri Date for 2020 which includes Chaitra and Shardiya Dates.

During Navratri, Goddess Durga is worshiped in the form of Kaali, Lakshmi, and Saraswati. Each day of the Navratri is dedicated to honoring divine avatars of Goddess Durga in the form of Mata Shailputri, Mata Brahmacharini, Mata Chandraghanta, Mata Kushmanda, Maa Skanda Mata, Maa Katyayani, Mata Kalratri, Mata Maha Gauri, and Mata Siddhidatri.

It is one of the foremost and important festivals in India. Navratri is celebrated in different ways in various parts of India. Each region has its unique way of celebrating the festival.

People fast and pray to the Mother Goddess to bless them with success, glory, and riches. Big Idols of Goddess Durga are placed and worshiped. People sing, dance and celebrate the festival with great joy, and enthusiasm. Aarti (Devotional Song dedicated to the Goddess) is sung, mantras are chanted and prayers are performed in the mornings and evenings throughout the Navratri Festival.

Navratri Dates 2017

Navratri Dates in 2020

Navratri is celebrated twice every year for nine days. One at the beginning of summer in the month of March or April which is known as “Chaitra Navratri”.

The Other Navratri is celebrated at the beginning of winter in the month of September or October and is known as “Shardiya Navratri”. Of these Navratris, Sharadiya Navratri is the most popular and significant Navratri. That’s why it is also known as “Maha Navratri”. The nine-day festivity culminates on the tenth day with Dussehra or Vijaya Dashami.

Chaitra Navratri Date 2020

Navratri Day 1 – Ghatasthapana, Shailputri Puja: 25th March 2020 (Wednesday)
Navratri Day 2 – Sindhara Dooj, Brahmacharini Puja:  26th March 2020 (Thursday)
Navratri Day 3 – Gauri Teej, Saubhagya Teej, Chandraghanta Puja: 27th March 2020 (Friday)
Navratri Day 4 – Kushmanda Puja, Vinayaka Chaturthi: 28th March 2020 (Saturday)
Navratri Day 5 – Skandamata Puja, Naag Puja, Lakshmi Panchami:  29th March 2020 (Sunday)
Navratri Day 6 – Skanda Sashti, Katyayani Puja, Yamuna Chhath: 30th March 2020 (Monday)
Navratri Day 7 – Kalaratri Puja, Maha Saptami: 31st March 2020 (Tuesday)
Navratri Day 8 – Durga Ashtami, Sandhi Puja, Mahagauri Puja, Annapurna Ashtami: 1st April 2020 (Wednesday)
Navratri Day 9 – Rama Navami: 2nd April 2020 (Thursday)
Navratri Day 10 – Navratri Parana: 3rd April 2020 (Friday)

Shardiya Navratri Date 2020

Navratri Day 1 – Chandra Darshan, Shailputri Puja, Ghatasthapana: 17th October 2020 (Saturday)
Navratri Day 2 – Brahmacharini Puja: 18th October 2020 (Sunday)
Navratri Day 3 – Sindoor Tritiya, Chandraghanta Puja: 19th October 2020 (Monday)
Navratri Day 4 – Kushmanda Puja, Varad Vinayaka Chauth: 20th October 2020 (Tuesday)
Navratri Day 5 – Saraswati Awahan, Skandamata Puja: 21st October 2020 (Wednesday)
Navratri Day 6 – Katyayani Puja, Saraswati Puja: 22nd October 2020 (Thursday)
Navratri Day 7 – Kalaratri Puja: 23rd October 2020 (Friday)
Navratri Day 8 – Durga Ashtami, Sandhi Puja, Mahagauri Puja, Maha Navami: 24th October 2020 (Saturday)
Navratri Day 9 – Ayudha Puja, Navratri Parana, Navami Homa, Vijayadashami: 25th October 2020 (Sunday)
Navratri Day 10 – Durga Visarjan: 26th October 2020 (Monday)

Wishing All of You, “A Very Happy Navratri”.

1 thought on “Chaitra and Shardiya Navratri Date 2020”

Comments are closed.